Hello, I'm new to modding.

PaintedDeath

I recently picked up Skyrim for my PC because I wanted to try the game with some mods. Having poking around the forums a bit, I haven't found anything to really help me get started adding mods to the game. If anyone could point me in the direction to a good "Getting started" guide I would appreciate it.

Also, if anyone could recommend some good mods to start off with, I'd appreciate that also.

Thanks for any help you can give.

Hi PaintedDeath,

First, what modding experience are you looking for? Nexus has various categories that will help you target content you are interested in. Do you want your game to look as good as it can be? Do you want to play the game in a different style? Do you want to partake in community-made quests?

If I give out specific titles, you can probably take a couple keywords and type it in the search engine. You can also browse categories for general ideas; that is found here: http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/mods/categories//?

First of all, check out the unofficial patches. Skyrim is a buggy game, but the patches can fix a lot of dumb errors in the vanilla (unmodded) game.

In my case, I had already owned the game on PS3, and was looking to explore new content. I really appreciate quest mods and hardcore mods. For quests, "Helgen Reborn" stands out as a popular favorite. For hardcore realism, I like stuff such as "Frostfall" and "Battle fatigue and injuries".

If you are looking to add personality, you could look at follower mods. The internet mandates that most of them are girls, but nonetheless, there are some pretty good ones out there. "Vilja" is one of the more popular ones.

If you want new weapons, just take a look at weapons and armor mods in the categories section. I'm not as familiar with these, but some of them are pretty cool; screenshots will tell you if you like them or not.