Rollback to Nvidia Driver 314.22 vast improvement for performance

firemanaf

First let me say, I have a gtx 660 1.5GB graphics card.

I have been running about 25 mods that change textures, lighting like CoT and RLO. Plus enhancers like SFO and WATER and few other popular mods. I was using FXAA Injector because a couple weeks ago I tried a few ENBs and my computer didn't seem to run it well for some reason. But FXAA let me enhance some colors to my liking. I was running solid 60FPS indoors and 55-60FPS outdoors.

Since then I have updated my Nvidia driver again just the other day to the new BETA. (also since I started playing I learned how to tweak settings and using texture optimizer and such to improve performance)

Well this weekend I decided to try the ENB thing again since I learned a bit how to tweak the setting for more performance. So I installed Project ENB. I actually could run it better than the first time. I had to have DOF and SSAO disabled and could run about 25-35FPS outdoors and 35-40 indoors. (Not sure why so low indoors) Hardly ever got to the 40s FPS

But I was seeing the sun through the mountains and decided to research a fix and found that rollback to Nvidia driver 314.22 can fix that issue. So I decided to try.

I started my game and in whiterun my FPS jumped to 40-45FPS inside solid 60FPS. I use the SSAO and DOF toggle mod. So I enabled that and outside I was sitting 35-40FPS outside never dropping below 30FPS (Before I was dropping below 30 a lot, in Riverwood I was usually in the 20s) Inside now I am sitting about 55-59FPS.

And no sun through objects. And now I can keep SSAO enabled and things look a lot better. I had to drop my shadows down to high instead of Ultra, now I can run Ultra.

Weird, But figured I would post this for those Nvidia users that didn't know about the sun fix and for those that are using the current drivers with issues may want to rollback.