Hungry Vampires - any tips from experienced modders?

robin523790

Have you ever played a vampire and wondered why you're the only one who ever feeds? I regularly have vampire followers (most importantly: Serana), and they go for weeks and months without even having a snack!

I am about to change that. A pure immersion mod, nothing else. What follows is a short description of what I want to do, then what I already did, and finally some questions on how to go on from there. So bear with me, please. :smile:

What I want to do:
Taking Serana as an example: When the player idles around (shopping, talking, scratching his nose...), she goes sandbox with the environment. What I would like to do is to have her pick a random NPC, casts Vampiric Seduction on him/her, then walk over and feed (ie. play a feed animation without actually "attacking" anyone).

What I have done:
I'm fairly new to writing mods, but I'm a professional software developer, so I figured: How hard can it be? ;-) I went through the official tutorials, built (then modified) my Lokir's Tomb. Put in a patrolling bandit and a vampire. Wrote a Papyrus script for the vampire that gets activated by a trigger the player steps into (or more precisely: the trigger sends an OnActivate to the vampire, and the script reacts to that event from this particular sender).
All that works really fine: script gets activated, spell cast, bandit stops his patrol for 30secs, vampire walks over and has a taste. (And some other things. Script is attached, if you're curious. Feel free to steal/use however you see fit.) All that *only* works if the vampire has no AI packages. Sandboxing overrides my script's actions, obviously. Casting Vampiric Seduction on the bandit, however, interrupts his patrol for the duration of the Calm effect, which is nice.

What I need next - and I'm unsure about how to proceed: