What gaming laptop should I buy?

MrOhNoFro

Hello, I'm pretty new to gaming computers but I'm interested in buying one. I would prefer a laptop as there is no space in my home for a desktop computer, and my pricing range is at just around £500.

The games I would hope to play on said laptop include games like Gmod, Portal, Fallout and Call of Duty, including 2D games; for the majority of my game purchases I will use steam.

I would very much appreciate if product names and advantages/disadvantages could be given in replies, thank you!!

With that budget I would highly recommend a mini desktop. Gaming laptops are extremely budget unfriendly, even mid-ish ranged ones (which are like lower mid ranged desktops) will likely run you over $1200 if you can find a store to pick it up to avoid shipping. For that price you could put togeather a nice desktop capable of playing just about any game on very high settings, and every one on your list at ultra.

If you must get a laptop the main brands are Alienware, Sager/Clevo, MSI, Asus.

I have an m18x (r1-initial release) but it cost me a lot (two flagship cards+ an aftermarket 480GB ssd). Though I do really enjoy it and the build quality is exceptional I cannot comment on any of the lower models from experience. I also actually had to buy a laptop (college+lots of travelling around) which is why I went with the desktop replacement model.

Sager is probably your best bet if you can find a good reseller. MSI make some good laptops also, but the price and build quality jump around a bit depending on the model so you would have to read up on them. Asus normally make ones with mid ranged graphics cards which makes it good for a mix of performance and mobility.

If you want to be able to pick one up from a store you can usually find MSI's or Asus laptops.

When purchasing a laptop for games you you will want to get at leat this:

cpu:

intel i7 processor (any i7 should be fine if you only plan on playing games)

gpu: