Advice for a Beginner

TheknightofRand

Hi,

I have been messing around with autodesk and 3D art for a couple of months now but couldn't find time to put in serious work due to school. However I have recently graduated and would like to try my hand at making an armor mod for Skyrim. Just one to start out, nothing too ambitious. If it is successful I would like to do several more.

I loved Kingdoms of Amalur and although the armor styles in that game are not entirely lore friendly I would like to recreate an armor from KOA for Skyrim. To this end I was hoping for some beginner advice.

I have been using Nightasy's tutorials on youtube and have worked through about half of the video series. What other tips would you offer to a first timer?

Thank you for any and all advice.

I don't know much about meshing and rigging and whatnot if it's similar to modding in general I think it would be best to start small. Don't start with a full armor set but rather a misc item that doesn't require rigging or 4 separate pieces.

Is their an item in the game you think looks awful?

For instance, recently bad boy Saerileth made a replacer for the White Phial and it was very popular. I think because not only was it high quality but it's something everyone can use.

Look around at the current items ingame and if one jumps out at you and you say to yourself "I can do that much better" or "I got a cool idea for this" start with that.

Their is a very intelligent mesher on these boards too Matth(something) the guy is self taught and super smart so if you need help with meshing ask him. If he's busy and you need help with modding in general I could help you out.

If you need help with anything else or just want some suggestions where to start cause your not too familiar with Skyrim just let us know.

- Have you any experience with character creation, anatomy and/or design?

If yes: It's just a matter of using that with the "limitation" of the engine. Nothing fancy.

If no: Another question