Mod Organizer "Deleted" the Mods I Downloaded within the Past 24 Hours...

burdfishdemon

Maybe they just disappeared with the disappearance of the program... Anyways:

I'm new to the PC world, which explains why when modding my Skyrim, I jumped from Steam to Nexus Mod Manager to Mod Organizer (with LOOT and BOSS). Yes noobish I know. Anyways yesterday--after 5 days of learning in many hard ways--I was up to 150 mods. Turns out I wasn't running them all (I didn't install some right in MO). Anyways earlier today--after downloading about 6 big mods--the last 25 or so I had downloaded (all straight from this website to MO) disappeared along with the MO program! It happened around when I was testing which mod was giving me trouble and crashing me (I solved that problem; it was 2 conflicting graphical mods).

I looked for my immerse creature mod and interesting NPCs mod and the 20-something other lost mods AFTER re-loading MO from its zip file, but they were gone. I think this could be because I had made my own profile and now that profile was gone. Anyways, I have since re-downloaded and properly installed the lost mods under the default profile in MO. Will this happen again? Has this happened to anyone else?

I know I'm still very inept at all this, so any help would be appreciated.

AFTER 4 HOURS of deleting steam mods and replacing them with MO ones, it deleted itself again... ;_;

Okay so I'm really not tech-savvy but I could probably give you a couple POSSIBLE ideas as to why that happened again...

My most likely reason is that when I extract mod organizer from the zip file, I just run the modorganizer.exe within the zip file. I don't believe I extracted it anywhere. So when it wants to run, I think it says it places itself in C/Users/Me/AppData/Local/Temp

Could it be that it's placing itself in a temp folder then deleting itself after a few days?

LOOT actually was "changed or moved" when I tried to open it now too. Both did this, and MO has done it twice.