.esm, .esp, and .bsa files appear as documents and not executable files

thellamaman99

Hi, I'm a complete noob when it comes to modding, and I've recently started to mod up Skyrim on my Mac, which runs the game through Cider. I've been successful when installing meshes and mods whose .esp files show up as unix executable files, but for some reason, I have a hard time installing certain mods because they save .bsa, .esp, and .esm files as documents rather than unix executable files. I even save them to the data folder, and put the scripts in a folder of their own within data, but, alas, nothing seems to work. Can anyone help me understand why this happens?

The mods that I have been successful in installing so far are Grass on Steroids, Unarmed Warfare, and the Better Weapons mod. I am trying to get Footprints, Immersive Armors, Immersive Weapons, and Pure Waters. I also want SkyUI, but I CANNOT GET SKSE, so I don't think there's any chance of that happening. Thanks!

esm, esp and bsa are not executable files. Windows Executable files end in .exe .bat :blush:

There should be no reason to try to run them or click on them for any reason. bsa are Bethesda Software Archive. esp are Elder Scrolls Plugin files and ESM are Elder Scrolls Master files

Please remember that Skyrim was written for Windows and not Linux or OSX, so the file associations may be different.

As all mods are downloaded as compressed files ( zipped) All 3 of these should be unzipped and copied directly into the game data folder.

• 1 year later...