Hair mod

Boodrl

Hello everyone,

I'm trying to make new hair options for dragonage origins. I don't have any skill with blender but I've seen other people's work from other games such as the sims. I'd like to use their meshes and place them in the game. With no experience in making mods or meshes I haven't made alot of progress. I could use some help from more experienced people. I have a bunch of .package files that I believe are the meshes.. so what should I do now. Do I use them in blender? (I've tried that and blender can't read .package files.) Do I convert these files into another type of file and if so what? I"m not exactly tech savvy so if the tech vocabulary could be kept to a minimum that would be helpful.

Thanks

Hello Boodrl, me too I would create new hairstyle with the models coolsims because there are more differents styles and pretty ! but I begin and I have no experience. I hope we have help for the community

i think u would need a exporter plugin for dragon age and some sort of plugin for sims, in sims 3 they use packages, not sure what sims 2 uses but look for blender or whatever 3d program they use. just search 'sims 2/3 blender plugin'

and see what pops up.

edit: i was just googling and it seems to model sims stuff u must import into milkshape then export to something that 3ds or blender can read and export to what dragonage uses and i think it should work

chibievil : I'd like to use their meshes and place them in the game.

Hi everyone !

I suggest you start by asking permission to those creators ,before thinking of converting their work,,,

I can also tell you that you cannot do strait port of those mesh without knowledge of polygonal modeling and character rigging .

because the bone structure will differ from one game to another ,the joints will have different location ,and different names and also the scaling ,the seams at the head (in case of hair),,,in other words ,Dragon age would not understand those coordinate