XCOM EU; need help - armor customization and squad size

xextremex

Hello. I am new to the XCom games and after spending many hours reading through various Wikis and forum posts, I'd like to ask for some guidance. I'm playing EU with no DLC content (there's no folder). I'm trying to figure out how to get two types of mods in my game that work with my saved games. The main thing I'm looking for is to be able to give my soldiers new armor, and most importantly new armor tints. Right now I cannot find a single option that gives them different armor (a helmet would be great), even with some armor researched and purchased and equipped...

I've read through long threads about changing certain files or changing the hex after decompressing stuff and using the PatcherGUI to install it. There's way too many numbers and I'm beyond confused. I have no idea what I'm doing here as far as scripting or hex code editing. And at this point I think I will mess up my game where I cannot play my saved missions. I can easily modify simple files in notepad but that's it.

I've changed it so XCom runs in offline mode. I've successfully added the main armor tints to my game but that's it.

I do not wish to install the Long War mod as it makes so many changes and I'm still learning the game on my first playthrough. An individual mod for EU that only affects the customization would be perfect...

I'm looking either for a 1. Simple mod that will give me more customization options for my officers, 2. Unlock the locked armors (I run into a brick wall here because instructions are to edit a file in the DLC folder and that does not exist for me), or 3. A simple DIY that will give me what I'm looking for and does not require the DLC (which I would get if it did run with my saved games which it does not).

Any guidance on this is greatly appreciated.