Quick Zoom - An Arma 3 Mimic Zoom Feature

mkt778

Hello Nexus Forums,

This is my first time posting here. I wish to bring up a feature which I think would greatly benefit the open world of Skyrim, and hopefully the Elder Scrolls series in the future.

Quick Zoom - Introduction:

Basically, what I am requesting is a feature that when no weapon is equipped, or your weapon is sheathed, holding the right mouse button will gradually increase the cameras zoom to a fixed level whilst held. The purpose of this simple feature is actually to restore your natural clarity of vision, but it also aids scouting, plotting courses which you’ll take, focusing on detail or just admiring the beauty of the landscape a little closer as you walk past. There have been many times i’ve encountered a moment in game where this feature would come in handy, and having got used to its existence in other games, it’s almost impossible to live without it. This technically already happens in the game, but only with a weapon drawn and whilst blocking. This somewhat defeats the purpose, as you have a weapon obscuring the view, plus, the zoom it does provide isn’t nearly enough.

Examples and More Explanation:

If you had played Fallout 3 and/or New Vegas, it occurred in that game. When no weapon was drawn, the right click zoomed in. It essentially functioned as aiming without a weapon drawn. But many people, including myself, use it subconsciously in game quite frequently for scouting and just general looking around.

For a reference, here is the zoom feature as it is represented in Arma 3:

http://share.gifyoutube.com/KRpYBj.gif