Simple for you, agony for me : A beginners struggle for a (modded) best friend.

Alright I'll cut right to the chase. I've been playing New Vegas since 2010. I got a good PC in 2013 and have been playing it with mods ever since. Recently I had the genious idea that "Hey, I love mods. I have a s*** load of free time. Wynaut learn to make some!"

Honestly guys all I want is a dog. That's it. Just a dog. I've spent the last 2 days looking at tutorial after tutorial and something always f*#@s up. I even read that html-guide thing that I'm sure someone was gonna suggest, I literally get lost at step 1 ("oh the click the script thing then click word script." Yea I don't see that option oh well next guide)

In the tutorial I'm watching now I'm at the part where (here's a link that sends you to the exact part I get f***ed up at) the guy selects his newly created NPC and simply drags it into the game world. Simple right? So easy a caveman could do it.

Yeaa not for me. It probably has something to do with the fact that I'm adding in a creature instead of an NPC, but when I drag it in nothing appears in the worldspace-viewer...thing. I know for a fact its not the worldspace-viewer-thing because I can easily drag in other creatures and NPCs. So I'm stuck, frustrated, and more than a little hungry. Another thing, I don't know if its relevant but when I click on the Show Preview box for the creature I've affectionately named Jasper, it stays grey. No model shows up, no cute little Legion Mongrel face appears.

If anyone, anyone could help me i would be incredibly grateful. I get that this is a very mediocre task for most of you, but I really do want to try my hand at modding and hate to just give up before I've even begun.

Below are some screenshots I've taken for your viewing pleasures. I'm not a photographer or anything but I think these came out pretty swell.

http://oi60.tinypic.com/112hqir.jpg

http://oi62.tinypic.com/2drg9so.jpg

http://oi61.tinypic.com/o10qyq.jpg