megageeklizzy

I am fairly new to modding, but I have done a few things and would like to know how hard it would be to get rid of Skyrim's skills and skill trees and return to Morrowind and/or Oblivion's skills and attributes. I know this sounds difficult, and maybe it is, but in my mind it doesn't actually seem too hard. Here would be the steps:

1. Get rid of the leveling/skill tree screen and make a new one, or edit the current one to fit the skills of previous games. The best way to do this would probably be to make each skill have its own "tree", which would consist of a straight line with perks that automatically unlock as the skill levels, like in Morrowind and Oblivion. The attributes could go at the bottom of the skill menu to replace the health, magicka, and stamina bars. Players would get a set number of points to spend on these attributes every level.

2. Change other aspects of the game to support the overhaul. That means adding spells from Morrowind and Oblivion to fill up the returned magic schools like Mysticism and adding spears. This step is probably the hardest(or second hardest, next to 3) and most time-consuming, but I would hope to get permission from the creators of existing mods that would do a lot of this for me.

3. Implement the overhaul. This means actually scripting all of the skills to actually work, making attributes change actor values, and putting new keywords on weapons, armor, clothing, and spells. This will mostly just be very time-consuming.

4. Do the finishing touches. This would just be adding new items and spells into the world by hand placing or, more likely, by putting them into leveled lists.