can a magic effect be applied via inventory item?

bombchu

Hello :)

I was just wondering if there's a way to apply a magic effect to any and all actors upon receiving a specific item into their inventory. I have the scripts written to give the item through dialogue and apply the affect, but i want to be able to "pickpocket" it into their inventory and have it applied as well. Is there a way to do this?

Thank you! :)

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm very new to the mod making world, and I admittedly would have no idea how to do that. Would you care to help me with the exact coding (I'd obviously credit you in the finished mod), or maybe point me in the direction of a tutorial for doing this?

Thanks! :)

Couldn't you use a OnContainerChanged event to cast the magic effect when the item changes inventories?

That looks promising. Would I just attach that script to the magic effect and reference the item under properties?

edit: Nevermind, scripts on magic effects are only for defining the effect, and would nullify the effect as I've set it up. The item then? Or would this be something I'd have to make a new quest for?

Thanks again :smile:

edit 2: It doesn't appear that I can reference the player's inventory as a container, which I assume means I wouldn't be able to reference an actor's inventory either. If i'm wrong, let me know, because this seems like the easiest way to accomplish what I want to accomplish.

Edited by bombchu

I'll have a better look at it when I get home, but you would have the script attached to the item as it is the one changing containers.

Oh and both the actors and players inventory counts as a container.