Serious help needed here

themaximum9901

Hey guys. Before I say anything, this is my first post to the New Vegas forums so I just want to thank the awesome people who take the time to make these awesome mods and provide them to us for free.

I've been modding skyrim for a couple years now and I tried playing New Vegas with mods about a year ago but it seemed like I couldn't install 2 mods of any kind without getting freezes and crashes. I decided to give this another go after having a great deal of success modding Fallout 3 using FOMM. Here's the issue I really need help with.

Most of the mods I install for New Vegas just flat out don't work. It's not that they cause crashes or freezing, (I get the "Out of memory" error sometimes but I used to get that without mods). It's that the game acts as though I never installed them.

Examples:

-NMC textures are great but only affect about half the world. The buildings look great but the roads and a lot of terrain textures are still vanilla.

-Not one single sound mod works besides Music Pack (which is a great music mod). I've downloaded gunshot sounds, ambient sounds, footstep sounds... none of it works. They install, but the game still has all the vanilla sound effects.

I used NMM at first, because that's what I've used for Skyrim all this time without a single problem, but when that didn't work, I spent hours watching tutorials on how to use FOMM properly. I downloaded every single mod manually, made my folders, extracted everything the way I "should", to no avail. Admittedly I enjoy the better file organization and what not, but that doesn't change the fact that 80% of my mods act like they never got installed. (again, this was the case with both NMM and FOMM).