Textures workflow - Substance Painter and Neosis

koojinn

So I'm new to this texturing stuff but learning a lot in the past week. While waiting for nifskope to update I have been trying work arounds.

I want to see what I'm editing on the diffuse map without going into game every time I change something.

Substance Painter is what I want to use. The problem is the .nif format. I discovered Noesis will open and let you export as .obj (score!) And it looks great (see image).

Noesis- everything is right, feet on the ground... mesh lined up with all 3 maps (diffuse, normal, spec)

I export the .obj and convert the maps to bitmap since that's what SP likes.

THEN it gets weird. I import the .obj with the maps and bam, model is on it's back, and normal map is not aligned. Most likely because the model is on it's back.

Like I said I'm new but a quick learner. Please tell me what to try and I'll do it :smile:

Noesis-

neosis1.md.jpg

Substance Painter -

sp1.md.jpg

Edited by koojinn

Hello koojinn :)

here you got two big problems. For the orientation problem, it's just because painter invert the axis of your model.

You need to import the obj in a 3d application like 3dsmax, maya or blender or any other you like. When it's done, adjust your model and then export it as obj with "flip axis" option check. (According to the software, you need to or not).

Then just import your obj in substance painter and you'll see. If it's not correct, do it another time with "flip axis" unchecked.

The other thing is because in this model, there's a lot of different texture used for different part of the mesh. You can see it in the 2D view of painter, there's some uv's island on the others. In fact it's complicated to tell you exactly how to because i'm not a english speaker (french) but you need to import your model into separate part. There's some video tutorials on the allegoritmic website.

Hope it will help you ;)