Substance Painter export preset

xgamer468

Yay another post from someone that wants to get started in modding and doesnt know what hes doing ;D

So for the last couple of months ive been teaching myelf 3ds max while building a helmet, which ive finsihed and textured as well as i could in Substance painter.

Here are the two textures i came up with:

http://i.imgur.com/GFjzbWM.png
http://i.imgur.com/R9bu9vT.png

http://i.imgur.com/dAvmQVb.png

So i now i need to export them, however im not sure which preset to use. The internet wasnt really a huge help so far, pretty much the only thing ive found was the fallout doesnt use the normal pbr metal rough but more gloss/spec, which is good to know but doesnt help me much. So i was wondering if anyone has found a way to export textures and would be patient enough to explain me how to do it. Thanks in advance!

Well, I'm only a fellow newbie myself and I'm not very familiar with 3dsMax, hopefully someone else can give more specific advice. However I can offer a little bit of help with how the specular map works as I've done a few retextures with it using photoshop and the beta version intel .dds plugin.

I save all of mine in the .dds file type with the format BC5 8bpp with a linear two channel tangent map which seems to work correctly within Fallout 4. What you want is two channels one to control the gloss and one to control the specularity with the brightness in each channel showing how high these values should be in the corresponding location on the model (in a linear fashion). In photoshop these are displayed as the green and red channels and you can paint them on directly. I've never tried it with the substance painter for 3dsMax though I'm sorry.

Yay, I can finally help someone.

Simple answer first: bgsm/bgem files control your textures. You don't want them to look like shæt, find an in game asset with the type of texture scheme you want and look at the settings.