Attempting simple texture replace. Looks great in Nifskope, no change in game. Help?

Schmobius

I am attempting to do a simple texture replacement for my own use and to figure out some very basic mod creation/editing, though if someone wants me to release it, and I can get permission from the mod authors I am taking resources from for this, I'd be willing. For now, let's just assume this is for my own personal game and education, or to help anyone else with a similar problem.

I am taking the standalone Silver Shroud Scarf from Hunk92's Fully Customizable Outfits mod, and trying to use the texture from the Stripy Scarf in Eli's Mufflers. I like the shape of the Silver Shroud Scarf as it works with Maxon's battlecoat, and it's the same way I wear a scarf, as I'm too lazy to do anything else with a knot or whatever. I don't like the silver satin-y texture on it though.

I'm a bit of a noob, though I've played with the Geck before with Fallout New Vegas to make simple tweaks to stats and I've used the older version of Nifskope to bump up or down the size of armor pieces to stop clipping issues, so I'm not clueless, but I feel like I must be making a dumb mistake here.

I got FO4Edit and Nifskope 2, and I finally figured out how to make the texture edit itself. The scarf now looks exactly how I want it in Nifskope by editing the .nif file from the FCO mod and pointing to the .dds file in Elianora's mod. I did set up the resource paths by having it scan, but it looks correct.

Changing the .nif made no change to the Silver Shroud Scarf in FCO. This surprised me deeply. It is acting as though the .nif files in the meshes directory are only the equivalent of sourcecode, not something it actually loads into the game. I don't believe that's how it works, but that's how I'd deduce it to work based on observation if I were looking at this for the first time.