"Better horses" mod problem

Angkorbeer

Hi,

First, I'm a complete noob at using mods: Better Horses is the first I ever try.

I downloaded the mod as well as the Nexus mod manager. I installed both. I started the manager and ticked to activate the better horses mod. So far so good.

In the game, I loaded my last save, went to the Whiterun stables, found the book "How to train your horse" and read it. The instructions said there should be some options dialog after reading the book, but nothing for me.

I go to my horse (Shadowmere) and try to crouch and select it, but it doesn't give me an inventory: My character simply sits on the horse as usual.

I've tried using the command "set HorseSettings to 1". It doesn't give my any syntax error, but it doesn't change anything either.

Any idea what I could be doing wrong ?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Edited by Angkorbeer

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Angkorbeer, I have the exact same problem, but have not found a solution so far. When I read the book nothing happens and there is no dialog box. If you have the book in the game that means that most likely you did install the mod correctly. I have tons of mods installed and thought that one of them conflicts with "better horses". But apparently they are not the cause since you have the same problem without other mods installed (if I understood you correctly).

The readme in the mod did mention that some problems might occur if the first time you load a game when the mod is installed your character is mounted on a horse. Was this the case for you? Because it was for me. I tried reinstalling the mod, but apparently there is no way to completely uninstall it. Some parts do get left over. So I can't cancell out that as a possible cause.

It is really a shame, because you are the only person other than me that I have found to mention this problem. I hope someone can help us....

Thanks for replying, Warstick.