Deep Pockets -> Battlescanner Mod (BETA TEST)

BanjoOz

Attached is my first attempt at a UPK mod for XCom UE... but because modpatcher doesn't work with such mods, I had to go a round-about way to make some way to "install" it without sharing the entire XComGame.upk file (which I considered a "no-no"). Hopefully just sharing the single edited Function script file is okay.

This is a VERY "dirty" way to "one click install" such a mod, but I'm no programmer so this is the best I can do. It's probably less hassle to just make the hex edits yourself (see HERE) but I wanted to test if this worked... before I upload this properly (and I may just wait until a proper installer tool for UPK mods is available), I wanted to post this so that others can test out that this method works in their games.

More information is in the "Readme.txt". "ModInstall.bat" is all you need to run to install the mod if you follow the directions. It assumes starting with an "unmodded" copy of the game (i.e. you haven't already decompressed your XComGame.upk file or run XSPACE) but experienced users/modders can just open up the .bat file in a text editor and delete the lines they don't need (such as decompressing the or just what to do from scratch!) fairly easily, to run this on modded game files.

What It Does:

Running "ModInstall.bat" will backup your XComGame.upk, decompress it, unpack it, exchange the original "GetPerkInTreeSupport.Function" file for my modded one, then repack the upk and clean up (deleting the unpacked files, etc.). Optionally, it will also ask if you want to run XSPACE on your XComGame.exe, in case you haven't already.

Of course, if you're already making your own UPK mods, you can skip the whole .bat file "installer" and just rename the included "GetPerkInTreeSupport.Function.Mod" to "GetPerkInTreeSupport.Function" and repack it in your own XComGame.upk (with any other edited files/mods of your own).