Need help to improve performance

Layia28

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to playing Skyrim on PC and new to gaming on PC in general. I finally have figured out how to successfully use mods - which ones to pick, which ones are compatible and incompatible, the correct load order ect. At this point, I have all the mods I want correctly installed and aren't having any issues with crashes. However, I would really like to improve my FPS. It's around 20 FPS consistently which isn't bad, but isn't as smooth as I would like to be. If I could get it up to 30 FPS I would be very happy, but I'm not sure how to do that.

Like I said, I'm new so I don't know which .ini tweaks would make the most difference or if a new graphic card would help the most.

Here are my specs:

Windows 7

ASUS G75VW

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M 2GB

8GB Installed Memory

Processor Intel® Core i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz, 2301 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)

Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601

I'm not sure if you need all that, but I thought better safe than sorry.

I've already done some ini tweaks like reducing the shadows. My video quality is set to High not Ultra. I only have a couple texture mods that I chose very carefully and the rest are all simple mods that shouldn't effect performance. I don't want to do too much ini tweaking until I know what would actually help me with my specific computer. So if anyone would be so kind as to give me some advice on how to increase my FPS and get the game running a little smoother even up to 30 FPS from the 20 FPS it's at now, I would really appreciate it.

Alright, thank you in advance.

I feel your pain at 20 FPS bro. It's difficult to immerse yourself with an FPS like that. Several weeks back I got to a point where I was prepared to stay up all night and hunt down ways that I could improve my FPS. Unfortunately, your GTX 660 isn't on the list in the link below and neither was mine, but perhaps you can use GTX 680 as a guide?

My link