Some ideas for Cyberpunk mods

hexalby

I posted this on Reddit and I was sent here. I have no knowledge of modding so forgive me if I make complicated stuff sound easy to implement, but I wanted to share my thoughts on what could be great mods. My intent with these was to keep things as simple and coherent to the current game as possible.

Money and economy: The biggest issues here for me are 1) the diminishing importance of money as the game progresses, and 2) the lack of any real *corporate oppression* felt by the player, that make corpos feel like distant enemies instead of being in control of everything.

• Every X days, V would have to pay for their apartment rent, a fixed fee for their vehicles, and a *living expenses* tax to represent costs for water, gas, food, etc.
  • I would push this further and have small fees for almost every action in the game, like buying/selling, using elevators and fast travel, summoning your car, entering buildings, causing damage to your vehicle and others', etc. All to push that *corporate dystopia* angle.
  • Getting into debt will result in increasingly harsher restriction, at first late payment fines will be applied, then fast travel is disabled, then access to drop points is locked, then certain shops will refuse to trade, and then the apartment is locked. To the extreme end, cars could be disabled too.
  • With a high amount of unpaid fees, the police could become hostile by default.
  • To balance the fact that vehicles would cost money in maintenance, and that they're no longer money sink No.1, their price should be lowered and there should be an option to sell them.
  • [A bit more out there] There could be a simple stock market mini-game, where the player could buy/sell corpo stocks. This could also synergize with story missions and gigs, reflecting V hitting corpo assets with a decline in stock value for that corporation, giving more weight to our actions.