I simply stopped doing everything.

AnishaDawn

Over on the fallout 4 forums, I encountered something that was a bit of a wake up call. I experienced it here too but to a more passive degree.

All my knowledge of the game was derived entirely from testing for fun and diving into the CK. I'm well educated but I have no degrees to show for it, so I've had people undermine the authenticity my knowledge. I'm not a developer and never been in that kind of environment professionally. I don't think spending time in the various RPG Maker games count enough for me to say "I've made a game", but yeah I tried that out.. I have dived in Java, JS, C++, Perl, PHP, HTML, XML, Python, with and Python being the one programming language I've stuck with. It's just a hobby of mine and it just had the added benefit and helping me understand how games/programs work. When I play MMOs for example, I know whats going on with spawns, monster movements, etc. Call it a third eye - I don't need to see the code.

I don't own disassemblers, things that people use in order to present irrefutable proof of their findings, even though this can all be figured out in the CK They use this knowledge they pluck from the game code to obtain reverence and popularity - these types of people always seem to have a nasty "holier than thou" air about them as well. People will take them seriously, while taking people like me less seriously. Honestly that hurts.

To be told that what I know is just an "opinion" is a slap to my face because I have tons of notes both hand written and typed. Lots of math(basic math..I'll get to that), lots of lines of codes, in the thousands, that have been read all in effort in me wanting to know the answer to two of the most daunting questions of mankind: How and why?