How do you "enable" a "disabled" chest via spell?

So I've been messing around with a simple idea -- I know nothing, I'm a noob with scripting as always -- but I wanted to see how to make a chest/container simply enable.

So in Riverwood, I placed a chest somewhere and created a reference for it in the CK. I set it as "Initially disabled" and wanted to see how to "enable" it by using a simple spell.

The spell/magic effect is just a simple FFS (Fire forget self) with the archetype set to Script.

Below is the script I mustered up but it doesn't seem to be working, I think there's something missing somewhere -- can anyone fill in the blanks and educate me?

The property is pointing at the reference chest in the render window. At first it didn't let me pick it but once I created a reference ID, instead of the chest just being a case base object, I was able to point to it.

Scriptname ChestEnable extends activemagiceffect  
{This script will enable an initially disabled chest and vice versa}

ObjectReference Property JWCHEST Auto

event OnInit()
        If (JWCHEST.IsDisabled())    ;if the chest is currently disabled...
		Debug.Notification("The chest is disabled")   ;display a message that it is being enabled just because
		JWCHEST.Enable(true)  ;and enable it with a fadein
		Debug.Notification("The chest is now enabled")   ;display a message that it is being enabled just because
		;JWCHEST.SetOpen()
	ElseIf (JWCHEST.IsEnabled())
		Debug.Notification("The chest is enabled")   ;display a message that it is being disabled just because
		JWCHEST.Disable(true)  ;and disable it with a fadeout
		Debug.Notification("The chest is now disabled")   ;display a message that it is being enabled just because
	EndIf
endEvent