Constructive Feedback & Suggestions for Collections

BOSSKONG

Hello to the NexusMods team and developers. I’ve only released one mod on this platform (and was pleasantly surprised to see it featured on your social media), but I do plan to release more mods for games I enjoy as time goes on, I’m just focused entirely on my mods for FiveM at the moment.

I read through your announcement about the future of the platform and as a developer myself, I have some feedback and suggestions for your new collections system that should address concerns on both sides of the table.

WARNING: WALL OF TEXT INCOMING!

I am firmly in the camp that believes mod authors should have full and complete control over if their content is available for download, and should be able to delete these files at will. I also believe the idea behind your new collections system is a good one that will benefit everyone, done correctly (and I understand that this is not easy, nor will it be perfect).

It appears that this initial implementation of collections and your new stance on file deletion targets a “one-and-done” type of system, where the curator uploads the collection file and does not need to touch it from then on because the mods (and their respective versions) it relies on will always be available. In this way, a collection can never break...in theory.

A simple game update could have the same effect on a collection that a mod deletion does and render it broken, or entirely useless and is far more likely to be the case for undermining the collection system anyways.

We also need to remember something: The people who are capable of putting together quality collections are tech savvy modders! They can handle these situations.