Newbie Modder, Scripting Help for Settlement Mod

EternalGuard

Hello there! I am currently making a settlement mod that would, ideally, create a settlement upon the cell reset after you have gained control of the settlement. (I'm doing this because while I love the many settlement creation mods that exist, I have a friend who rejects the settlement system entirely but loves the other mechanics of the game and so this idea grew from there.) While I'm not a stranger to the creation kit itself, scripting - papyrus particularly - is something I am extremely new to and couldn't find any other questions on this specific topic through the combined magics of Google, Bing, and DuckDuckGo.

Currently, I have restricted myself to the settlements that are simple clearing settlements, (i.e. Taffington Boathouse, Croup Manor, Murkwater Construction Site, etc.) but I will run out of these in short order. I am using the following script for the cleared settlements:

Scriptname MCC01:MCC01EnabledClearedSettlement extends ObjectReference Const
{This script is used by my mod to enable the settlement once the workshop is player owned.}

Event OnCellDetach()
	if self.isEnabled()
		self.Enable()
	Else
		getLinkedRef().isDisabled()
		self.enable()
	endif
EndEvent

As you can see, it's an extremely basic script as I just started my delve into the wonderful ball of yarn that is Papyrus. The linked ref this refers to is the xmarker that is disabled after the site is cleared.

My question, as I see it, is: Do any of you wonderful (or not wonderful people if that's your thing) know of a way to run the script (enabling the xmarker) off of workshop ownership rather than banking on an existing reference being disabled?

A few of the settlements may need to be tied to quests (namely the Airport and Sanctuary) but I'm seeking others' experience in seeing if I can get a general script that activates off of the player owning the workshop.