Unpredictable travel times for actors with travel AI package

onspey

I have an actor assigned to a quest alias. This alias adds an AI package with a 'travel' procedure to the actor. There's also a objective marker pointing to the actor's position on the map. Once forced into the alias, the actor starts moving as they should. If I follow them, they'll continue to walk to their destination, taking however long it takes to actually walk there. All seems to work.

However, if I instead leave them and - for example - enter an interior cell, the actor's behavior becomes really erratic. As soon as the actor is unloaded, they will almost instantly jump to the travel procedure's destination reference; literally reaching the other side of Skyrim within a couple of in-game minutes, which severely harms immersion for the purposes of the mod I'm working on.

I've never worked with traveling NPCs before, hence I'm unsure whether this is the expected engine behavior or whether the way I set things up is flawed. If someone more knowledgeable could shed some light on this for me, I would greatly appreciate it.

Expected engine behavior. Also, keep in mind for every real time minute, 30 minutes pass in Skyrim. So, while you've spent 5 real time minutes in an interior cell, your NPC traveled for 2-1/2 hours. If you fast travel, NPC AI packages don't always play as expect either.

Thanks for the input.

I did some experiments with different time scales and there seems to be a correlation. The LOWER time scale is set, the FASTER NPCs seem to travel (in unloaded cells, purely by nav mesh). I tried different values between 60:1 and 1:1. At 60, travel speed almost seems what the player could achieve. At 20:1 (vanilla), travel speed is bearable, although much faster than the player can run. But at 5:1 (the setting I normally use), NPCs simply race across the map (even worse at 1:1).