A Mod Concept - Ancestral Knowledge (info needed)

Netm

Hi guys,

I'm new to modding, although I have some programming background, not much as I'm now in sales, but some to understand and edit readable code and scripts. I've taken a look at the modding files and documentation but I cannot figure out:

• How to do questlines and change their status?
  • How to change something that is already in the game (say, the player character) to something else (skills, traits, weapons, siege engines available)? (not to max the char or cheat, it's part of the mod idea below).
  • How to change state of the map (cities, buildings, populations, construction etc. values), add and remove buildings from cities and castles and change the map layout overall during the gameplay of a mod or is such a thing even possible?

I've already figured out that much that I could do just by some programming language and the way I understand the mod logic works. I could add different states of the world and the characters in it to different subfolders in the Modules folder, everything would be named the same on file level, only the root folder is indexed like 1,2,3 etc. (or names for that matter). Then you'd add a script to switch this folder when something happens in the game or certain game time has passed after the last event. I'm wondering if this structure will work?

The idea of the mod (spoilers)

Ok, so it would start by there appearing a city on the map or just a scene location which would be immediately noticed (welcome text?) and easy to find. Upon going there, you'll get a typical gather quest of 6 pieces from different NPC's around the map, it's a key to another place in the center of the map. I should edit these characters (or include a mod that allows for it for all NPC's) to be subject to bribing and either a big amount of quests or endless. You should reach some level of relation with them before they are willing to part with their piece of the key.