Help: Making A Village / Settlement / Town Mod

Hello guys.

I am no expert with the Construction Set and I have only played around with it. I have not got any additional tools or made any CS setting modifications.

My goal is to construct some brand new settlements for Tamriel, using vanilla assets and models. I want them to have reason and purpose, having some sort of realism. I want them to blend into the world of Tamriel, not look out of place.

My previous attempt was near Fort Sutch. I know that the settlement of Sutch was never implemented in the game and that some old IDs still exist, so I thought this maybe a suitable location. My issues were that there are 2 Oblivion Gates in this area and that the hills were too big to flatten nicely.

How to modders find suitable locations to start building a settlement? Is there any search features? Is there any guides for settlement building?

My settlement plan:

• Manor (Weynon Priory asset)
  • Chapel with grave yard
  • Tavern
  • Blacksmith
  • Farm Houses & Farms
  • Shops
  • Voiced NPCs with routines
  • Purchasable player home

What advice would you give for me to start? Any tools or guides you suggest? Anything I should do before I begin?

There where a tool or database for this, but I do think it is very outdated. I do not think you should worry about your settlement will share location with other mods really. I use the hill North of Anvil for my Settlement and I picked that spot as it was already picked in the Resource I am using and that I like that spot a lot.

Best way to find a perfect spot is to hike around in game really. Do not forget to edit the pathways, as otherwise NPC's, Creatures or Companions will try to walk through your objects. They do not see any objects at all, well static objects as they only follow the paths, nothing else and pick up loose objects if they have need for them, specially food, books and weapons.

A couple of quests would be nice too.... ;)

Edited by Pellape