Newbie Mod Maker

GinjaNinja1021

Hi,

I am very new to modding having only had skyrim for a couple of months but topping 3 characters and around 1000 hours mainly just playing with mods to see what can be done.

So I am taking the plunge and going to try and make my own (Super Original) mod: The Sword of Omens and the Claw Shield

I am teaching myself to use Blender at the moment and grasping the basics.

But I was wondering:

a) Is GIMP a good tool for textures?

b) Can somebody give me a good idea of what to look for in terms of coding software (preferably free) with some decent pdf tutorials?

c) Do you think its possible to make the sword change form when unsheathed?

d)Is it possible to have a ward on the shield when blocking?

e) Any ideas?

The plan is to start with the sword as a craftable object and slowly learn to put it into the game using a quest in the book of omens and maybe recycle original voices for the guardian.

Like I said I'm very new to all of this but work at sea so lots of free time means lots of learning. Hence the jumping in head first like a complete nutter haha.

Thanks for the help,

Mods-I'm sorry if this is in the wrong place I'm also new to forums haha...

Cheers,

I think mod talk would be better than mod troubleshooting. Surely a moderator could move it for you, if asked.

On to the answers, that I can answer...

A. Gimp is decent at textures. It is free so that is a major plus. Just be sure to get the DDS Plugin for Gimp

B. What kind of coding are you talking about? Papyrus or something else?

C. No. The sheathed model is the same as the in hand model. You could make an actual sheathe instead of the leather straps found on most swords.

D. Possibly. I'm not sure, but there may be conditions that could be used to allow certain effects to take place at certain times. I've not delved too far into that.