[New Vegas] Stuttering when drawing weapon

FrenchieDwemer

Hello,

So I'm brand new to Blender, and I've spent the last couple days tweaking some weapons for Fallout New Vegas. Nothing major, just trying to fix some very small flaws to put my OCD to rest, and making the weapons fit better in my character's hands.

However, there's a noticeable stutter now when I try and equip said weapons. It lasts for maybe a second and a half, but it's pretty annoying, and I'm worried that these somehow faulty models may have a more general impact on performance, even if it's barely noticeable.

Basically I'd use NifSkope to export .nif files to .obj, which I could then import into Blender and mess around with. Then I'd export the finished mesh back to .obj, and open two instances of NifSkope, one with the unmodified base .nif, and the other with the modified .obj. I'd stripify the latter, then copy the NiTriStripsData and paste it over the corresponding bits in the original .nif file. Lastly I'd update the Tangent Spaces and be good to go. Or so I figured.

I'm guessing there's something about this process that "de-optimizes" the models for the game, even though they are technically "playable", as in they show up in game - the game just seems to struggle to render them. I couldn't attach an .nif file to this post, but I'd be glad to send some to anyone that cares to look at them; they come from readily available mods on the Nexus so no big deal I hope.

In any case, thanks in advance for your insight.

Which version of Blender are you using?

Is there a compelling reason you are doing twice the work by not directly importing the .nif file into Blender?

Edited by M48A5