Need help with mod idea

Elandan

Hi guys i'm new to modding community and want to make small rebalance for food and drinks for survival mode.

Main idea: It feels wrong when you can use unlimited different food to heal yourself at one time, so i want to cap it with exact number, maybe even rebalance lead belly perk so you can heal with more food at one time with every level of this perk. Also all food has same duration and i think it worth to change it too. Example: Deathclaw steak heal longer, but with slower hp/sec than grilled radroach or pre-war food.

Its not hard to change values using FO4Edit, but idk how to limit the amount of healing food at one time. I will be glad for any advice

You may have to look into scripting.

Just off the top of my head I'm thinking maybe a couple variables. One holds a maximum amount of food points allowed and the other holds the current amount of food points consumed. Compare one to the other to see if more food consumption is allowed.

You'll need to set up a timer to decrement that current food points consumed variable over time. I've never set up a timer but I know the MM kidnapping radiant quest has a timer. You may want to look at the script handling that to see how Bethesda did it. You might even want to have the timer be a variable to allow changing that value as well.

The maximum food points allowed value could be incremented with each level of Lead Belly or any other perk you decide.

Regarding HP per second, there's already that functionality in the food data. Under each Effect is a Magnitude and Duration. Magnitude is HP/Sec and Duration is total number of seconds. So, for example, you could set Deathclaw steak to have a Magnitude of 1 and Duration of 120 for a 120 HP (Magnitude * Duration) heal over a 2 minute period. FWIW, it's currently set to 18.5 Mag, 10 Dur (185 HP over 10 seconds). You could set radroach to 5 mag, 1 dur for 5 HP in 1 second.

Edited by 42sheep