3d artist with mod questions

lazerlemon

Hello. I have been doing 3d modeling for about 4 years now using blender/zbrush/maya and I was thinking of getting into making models for skyrim mods. The problem is I don't know anything about it. I don't know what kind of software is used, how much programming knowledge is required to make a mod, or the types of files that are used. I might be better off joining someones modding group instead of making my own because of my ignorance in programming but if you guys could help explain things that would be invaluable! Thanks in advance!

I don't know Quests and some of the more advanced aspects of Skyrim modding but I'm very knowledgable in most apsects. Do you have any ideas or some 3D models you wanted implemented? I can help out with that.

There are two tools you can use for Skyrim modding: Creation Kit and TES5edit.

I strongly suggest if your starting out to use TES5edit. It's much cleaner and less cumbersome than the Creation Kit. While it doesn't have all the same functionality as the CK it is more powerful in many respects.

If you don't have anything in particular to get started perhaps you could fulfill my request. If you do have something you would like me to implement you could just post your content on the Nexus as a modder's resource or private message me and I could give you my private email address.

I don't know Quests and some of the more advanced aspects of Skyrim modding but I'm very knowledgable in most apsects. Do you have any ideas or some 3D models you wanted implemented? I can help out with that.

I strongly suggest if your starting out to use TES5edit. It's much cleaner and less cumbersome than the Creation Kit. While it doesn't have all the same functionality as the CK it is more powerful in many respects.