[Tutorial] Making Real Reflective Gemstones

Saerileth

Making Real Reflective Gemstones with the Gemling Queen

http://i.imgur.com/JcksjxZ.png

Hey there! I'm Saerileth, the author of Gemling Queen Jewelry. If you want to learn how to make real, reflective gems the way I do, then you're in the right place. What you'll need:

• A 3D modelling software. I use Blender in my demostrations, but you can use anything that gets the job done.
  • Something that lets you import/export .nif files to/from your 3D software of choice.
  • NifSkope

I'll assume you have basic knowledge of Blender (or whatever you choose to use) in this guide, so I will gloss over some of the details. All of what you'll need can be easily looked up in the documentation though, I'm mostly self-taught myself - I only started using Blender a few weeks ago. You also need to know your way about NifSkope pretty well, I'll outline the important steps of course, but this is not a beginner's tutorial.

Outline

My gemstone replacers use a technique developed by Madcat221. It's inspired by how the vanilla clutter gems (the ones you need for crafting jewelry) are set up. They have a slightly transparent outer layer, and a highly reflective inner layer that "faces outward", so you will see the back of the gem sparkle. Check the screens on my mod page to get an idea for how the end results look.

In this tutorial I will show how to set up the transparency with a NiAlphaProperty, how to add a new shape for the inner layer and flip its normals to face outwards. If you know how to do all that, you can skip ahead to the last few steps. I will illustrate the process with the example of modifying a Dawnguard ring mesh (the Ring of the Beast), but there's no reason it wouldn't work for custom jewelry. This approach will work best for faceted gems, but might work for other shapes as well.

1. Importing the mesh with Blender