Problem creating new hair

raughnut

Hello everyone! Im somewhat new to the modding world, and im trying to do a custom hair mod. I already have the mesh modeled and textured. but i dont know how to merge the individual textures into a single .dds texture. I tried render to texture in 3d max but it lowered the quality of the texture, and i also dont know how to add the hair as an additional hair for the character generator... i only go as far as exporting the hair into the mmh msh dds and such, because of a very useful tutorial i found on the internet and Tazpn Tools... If anyone can, please help!

I used a image editor to merge the textures (The GIMP).

Create a new image the size of your textures and decompose the colors into separate layers. Now you just have to move the right texture (in grayscale) in each component.

Red contains the bump map. You can use your normal map to generate one.

Green contains the diffuse map. Turn your diffuse texture to grayscale, remove the alpha, and put it in this channel.

Blue contains the transparency map. Copy the alpha channel of your original diffuse texture.

Alpha contains the specular map. Turn your specular texture to grayscale, remove the alpha, and put it in this channel. If you don't have a specular texture, you can use the diffuse map with a bit of noise and reduced brightness.

Recompose the colors, and save it in .dds.

You'll also need to edit your material object, because I don't think tazpn's tool exports them correctly for hair models. I took the one for vanilla models (pn_har_all.mao), renamed it and changed the texture path for the packed texture.

To make it selectable in the Character Creator you need to edit the file "chargenmorphcfg.xml" (packed in "misc.erf" or in your override directory if you have any mods), and add a line in the appropriate section.