Tutorials for cleaning save files? Buggy dragon soul absorbing. Kinda 'Meh' graphics even with a 2gb GTX 760

CherryBelle

Hiya. I heard from someone else (on here I think) that it's best to make a new save instead of saving over an old save, which works fine for me. But, I'm worried my new main save still might have issues, because I learned this after playing for a while and reaching level 12, and resaving very often. I was wondering if there are some tutorials for cleaning a save file. I heard you can use tess edit for this, but I'm having trouble finding any help. I found one for cleaning your master files (which I did) but nothing for cleaning a save file. I'm not even sure how/if tessedit can do that. When I load tessedit, it seems like it only loads the plugins, not any saves anyway.

Anyone have any advice or knowledge of a tutorial or tool for cleaning up a save file?

I only discovered my game was buggy when I killed a few dragons and nothing happened. I'm new to Skyrim, so at first I thought maybe not all dragons have souls, but one time I was leaving Whiterun, and a dragon I had killed (and not absorbed the soul) somewhere out in Whiterun's hold randomly had its skeleton fall right in front of me. Was like.. uhh.... yeah. I took the time to create a new character, and went through the storyline up to where you kill Mirmulnir, and I didn't absorb his soul. Everything kinda.. paused... and the guards and other npcs were stuck in the crouched position with their hands covering their heads.

After looking around online, I searched my files and found:

dragonactorscript.pex in:

Unofficial Dragonborn Patch
Unofficial Dragonborn Patch\scripts
Unofficial Skyrim Patch
Unofficial Skyrim Patch\scripts

and mqkilldragonscript.pex in

Unofficial Dragonborn Patch
Unofficial Dragonborn Patch\scripts

I renamed all of them with the extension .pexbak, and suddenly my main save was able to absorb souls again (spawned a dragon to test it with the reference id of eafb4)