Oblivion won't start a new game!!!! HELP!!

rjc149

Hello everyone,

I am a noob, straight up. A noob to games and a noob to computer troubleshooting. I'm going to start this by saying that I have read dozens and dozens of pages on various forums about this problem. I have done research on this until my eyes got achy and watery. A few people seem have this problem, but in literally HOURS of research, I have found only vague, indirect advice. Perhaps the nature of this problem can only warrant vague advice.

I just finished installing Oblivion on Vista, and started to get really, really excited. I've been wanting to play this game ever since it came out, four years ago.

When I click 'new game' it goes to a box saying "Start a new game?"

I click "yes"

and....

NOTHING HAPPENS! It just goes back to the menu as if I clicked "no." All the other menu options work except this one!!

In my research I came across some vague solutions, like 'turn off Aero' or 'run in XP compatibilty mode,' all of it mystifies me!

I tried running OLDblivion, thinking perhaps my graphics card wasn't up to snuff (intel chipset 4) but the same thing happens. It won't let me start a new game. I uninstalled and re-installed. Same problem. After 20 minutes of running patch 1.2, I tried again. It won't let me start a new game. Downloaded a saved game, from the end of the sewers, and the game crashes when I try to load it.

Does anyone out there know of this problem? Can anyone help please??? Here are my system specs for reference:

Toshiba Satellite L305

Pentium Dual core CPU T4200 @ 2.00 ghz

3 gb ram

Vista 32 bit

Mobile Intel 4 Series Express Chipset family

Thank you for reading, but no words of mine would be able to express the gratitude and appreciation if someone helped me resolve this problem.

Two silly questions...