Blender - Adjusting And Exporting Weapon Meshes

Site Bot

Article link: Blender - Adjusting And Exporting Weapon Meshes

BLENDER - ADJUSTING AND EXPORTING WEAPON MESHES

===================================================

INTRO

---------

This is a continuation of a tutorial series meant to adjust vanilla and custom weapons for RH_IronSights centered iron sights mod. The first part of the series, 'Adjusting Weapons for Iron Sights in NifSkope', can be found here:

http://www.fallout3nexus.com/articles/article.php?id=215

I use a free 3D modeling program called Blender. I've been working with it for about two years and I adore it in the same way that you come to love a cat that started out by scratching you all the time. Whatever its quirks, you get used to it.

Blender can be found here:

http://www.blender.org/download/get-blender/

Choose the appropriate download for your system. Please be aware that this tutorial is written using v2.48b on 64-bit and is therefore a little behind the times, technologically speaking. However, the techniques described should apply to v2.49b as well.

You will need a .nif exporter script for Blender, which can be found here:

http://www.oblivionmodwiki.com/index.php/Blender_NIF_Scripts

Lastly, remember these important downloads:

RH_IronSights - http://www.fallout3nexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=6938

NifSkope - http://www.fallout3nexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=6064

GECK - http://www.fallout3nexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=759

FIRST THINGS FIRST - WHY?

----------------------------

Why do we want to import .nif files into Blender? What will that do for us? How will it make Fallout 3 better?

Good questions! I find Blender to be an excellent way to edit 3D weapon models for Fallout 3. 3ds max is probably better for animations and clothing/monsters, but Blender is a great, free tool for weapon models.