SLI performing WORSE than single card.

AsaHerring

I did loads of research before I bought another GTX 780, and almost everywhere I read anything from, almost all people said you will see gains going SLI as long as nothing else is holding you back or limiting your system like your CPU. I have a 3570k overclocked to 4.2Ghz. It is my impression that Skyrim is well optimized for SLI.

I will state this. This is my first time going SLI. I do have SLI enabled through the Nvidia control panel and confirmed both GPUs are working with Precision X while in game. I still may have something wrong.

These framerates are from as soon as you enter Whiterun, and I have many mods that affect Whiterun as well as mods that ad NPCs.

(Framerates only changed 1-2fps if am running an ENB or not.)

Framerate without SLI = 20

Framerate with SLI = 18

I was hoping to see at least a small increase at this area, like 10-15 at least, but not a drop.

I have searched online on if there is any setting that you manually have to turn on to enable SLI in game, but everything I read is from 1 or 2 years ago, from like version 1.2 or 1.4 of Skyrim, and the things stated no longer apply, so I assumed it was implemented by default in the later updates.

Also, from monitoring them in game, my GPU usage maxes out around 50% and my CPU maxes out around 60%, not sure why so low even though my fps is so low.

Any advice is appreciated.

I have seen what you are describing with SLI before. I am not sure what caused it.

I would guess that the motherboard may be causing it.

Motherboard? Why? Doesn't really seem like a limiting factor at all to me.