A problem with game.getplayer()

wangcx

Hello guys,

I'm new here and a beginner to Papyrus scripting, and It's my first time to ask a question on this site, so thank u very much .

I intended to add a follower , who is sneaking when not in combat, and stop sneaking when combat starts.

Creationkit.com says my script should be "Game.GetPlayer().StartSneaking()" , but that's the action for the player, not for the specific NPC I am adding. How could I replace "Game.GetPlayer()"with another one to make it work, or is there a better way to solve this problem?

Thanks again for your help :smile:

First question is this: Where is the script located?

The location of the script determines how the script is written.

Myself, I'd put the script on either the follower's actor record or on a quest alias that points to the follower's actor record.

On the actor record I would have:

Event OnCombatStateChanged(Actor akTarget, int aeCombatState)
	If	(aeCombatState == 0)  ;not in combat
		If	!(Self.IsSneaking())
			Self.StartSneaking()	;starts sneak
		EndIf
	Else
		If	(Self.IsSneaking())
			Self.StartSneaking()	;cancel sneak
		EndIf
	EndIf
EndEvent 

On the alias record I would have:

If	!(Self.GetActorRef().IsSneaking())
			Self.GetActorRef().StartSneaking()	;starts sneak
		EndIf
	Else
		If	(Self.GetActorRef().IsSneaking())
			Self.GetActorRef().StartSneaking()	;cancel sneak
		EndIf
	EndIf
EndEvent 

First question is this: Where is the script located?

The location of the script determines how the script is written.

Myself, I'd put the script on either the follower's actor record or on a quest alias that points to the follower's actor record.

On the actor record I would have:

If	!(Self.IsSneaking())
			Self.StartSneaking()	;starts sneak
		EndIf
	Else
		If	(Self.IsSneaking())
			Self.StartSneaking()	;cancel sneak
		EndIf
	EndIf
EndEvent 

Thanks very much for your help. :smile: