M0Rf34S

*PROBLEM FIXED* It was Realtek's driver.

Hello, I have been playing Oblivion for 9 years now, on different machines and on different settings. As of 2015, about 3 weeks now that is, certain sounds in the game are non-existent: NPCs don't "talk" (the subtitles are there, they move their lips but no sound files play) when you go face-to-face with them but they talk normally when you approach them or exit the conversation. The sound of opening containers is also gone. There may be more sounds missing but those were the major ones I immediately noticed. Everything else, sound/generally wise seems normal. I did not change any of my settings, but I think my graphics card driver got updated sometime during this period (NVIDIA 670). All game settings seem to be fine. Loading different/much older saves doesn't fix the problem. I highly doubt any files have been messed with/gone missing or that any mods interfered with the game as it has been running perfectly smoothly for about 2 years now on this machine, on the same settings. I don't know much about sound so any help would be greatly appreciated. My audio is NVIDIA/Realtek according to the Device Manager (?).

Edited by M0Rf34S

Do you have Windows set up to automatically update drivers? I've had occasions where that didn't go well (wasn't sound drivers in my case though).

Then I'd suggest trying to roll back the driver update and see if that fixes the problem. Either that or go to the Realtek site and manually download the correct driver from there and install that one.

In the case that I had the driver MS installed didn't work at all (was drivers for a front panel display I think). I imagine they just have an automated web crawler downloading the stuff from where ever and no actual quality control in the loop. I manually update drivers when I believe they're needed since then (and that was years ago).