How do I UWV Unwrap a Sword for Skyrim in 3ds Max?

azlakal

I am brand new to making weapon mods for Skyrim, and it seems i've ran into a problem with UVW Unwrapping in 3DS Max. I can UVW unwrap any other piece of my model properly, but for whateer reason, the blade will not flatten, it will actually get thinner and harder to texture. I am trying to make a Norse-style sword for my first mod, mostly to be able to finally release my first mod and get feedback, but the blade has me stuck. The issue lies after UVW unwrapping my entire object, and then trying to use any mapping method, whether "flatten" or preferably "normal." Instead of the map getting wider, it actually becomes thinner and snakier, making it impossible to use for my UV map. Relaxing does not seem to fix this problem either. What am I doing wrong? Any help would be much appreciated!

Here is a link to a video I just made demonstrating the problem. I am very *very* new to UVW unwrapping, and although I am having a hellish time with it, I would still love to be able to make mods and give back to the Nexus community!

Edited by azlakal

@Elathia

I just went ahead and did a flatten-map, and then meticulously adjusted everything, but I will use that method for my next project! Although you probably explained the plane projection method perfectly well (and it is going over my head), can I ask you what that method might be called, or where I could see how to perform it?

-Thanks You!

I couldn't see the video because I was on my phone at the time.