Best video cards for modding purposes & the importance of CPU

Solitude102

Two Questions

Is there anything specific that you should look for in a video card when considering modding Skyrim?

Is the CPU a more important component for gaming and/or modding?

Details & Further Questions

I'm thinking about upgrading my video card, but I'm not an expert on the topic and so I'm seeking advice. I currently have a 'GeForce GTX 660 Ti' which has served me well; I can play Skyrim and any other game without issues for the most part. I have a larger budget than my prior days and so I'm considering a possible upgrade. However, I'm uncertain on whether or not I actually need an upgrade. The card has served me well as I already mentioned, but if there is a better card on the market then I'll be very interested. Is it smart to purchase a card now? or will there be a card released in the nearby future that would prove to be a much smarter purchase?

I have a 'Intel® Core i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz' and I'm wondering whether or not it's more important to upgrade this. Hell, can you even replace the CPUs on a computer, or do you have to buy a completely new PC? Is this a more important, or significant aspect of gaming? Is this a more important, or significant aspect of modding? I'm only considering upgrading one aspect of my computer right now, but if I have to do both then let it be. I ran the 'System Requirements' website for 'The Witcher 3' and I was alarmed at the fact that my video card was apparently fine for that specific game, but my CPU was not. Taking 'The Witcher 3' into account; I'll probably upgrade my CPU rather than my video card, but I still have many questions.

(I'd appreciate if links were provided for specific computer components that I can purchase. I rather spend around 400-650$ or less (for each component), but more than that is fine giving enough reason.)

My 2 cents;