Windows 10, DirectX 12 and My Modded Skyrim

CyberOcelot

Hi Everyone,

Being that Skyrim is my first and last modded PC game, it took me 13 months to customize it to my liking and get it stable and working as intended.

As a complete noob who doesn't even know how to properly back up my modded Skyrim (w/ Realvision ENB and much more installed) I'm pretty nervous about Windows 10 and DirectX 12 being around the corner and screwing everything up for me.

I've been so afraid of anything going wrong again (as so much has gone wrong for me in those 13 months) that I've refused to update SKSE or any of my installed mods so I can continue to enjoy the game.

All that being said, how worried should I be about DirectX 12 and Windows 10 and what can I do to protect my build?

If anyone can please help me prepare I would greatly appreciate it. My wife is pretty much due with our first child, and I know that when that baby is delivered (in a week or two), I won't find any time to fiddle around just to get my game working again post updates.

Thanks in advance for your guidance!

Not sure about Windows 10 but I seriously doubt it will screw anything up.

By the way, refusing to upgrade your mods or SKSE is very very silly. SKSE upgrades alone count for much of the stability in the game and end of CTDs.

It's also better to experiment, break something, and fix it, than to live in perpetual fear because you don't know how things works. It sucks to break stuff but when you fix it and learn you become able to enrich your gaming experience that much more.

Sounds just like my dad... He refused to update his stuff, and his Windows OS got so badly messed up, he had to buy a new laptop.

The reason why new updates to mods and SKSE are made, is because Bugs/issues are found and fixed. And mods are also optimized for better performance.

To refuse to update SKSE or your mods.... Is just plain dumb.