can't get the dismiss dialogue to work for animal follower *PAPYRUS QUESTION*

bombchu

Alright, I'm really new at this. LIke 2 days new. I used a tutorial to help with making a wolf follower, but I just can't get the "dismiss" dialogue option to work. Everything else works fine.

The tutorial said that it is normal to get the following error when entering "(pDialogueFollower as DialogueFollowerScript).DismissAnimal()" in the "End" window, but I figured I'd mention it anyway in case it's the culprit.

Starting 1 compile threads for 1 files...
Compiling "TIF__02004E14"...
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\skyrim\Data\Scripts\Source\temp\TIF__02004E14.psc(9,1): variable pDialogueFollower is undefined
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\skyrim\Data\Scripts\Source\temp\TIF__02004E14.psc(9,19): cannot cast a none to a dialoguefollowerscript, types are incompatible
No output generated for TIF__02004E14, compilation failed.

Batch compile of 1 files finished. 0 succeeded, 1 failed.
Failed on TIF__02004E14

So after "ok"ing past that error, I click the "advanced" tab and rename the script to something more easily remembered. I've read conflicting information about what to put under "Edit Source", but I've tried both, which are:

Scriptname SCRIPTNAME Extends TopicInfo Hidden

;PROPERTY

Quest Property pDialogueFollower Auto

;FUNCTION

Function Fragment_0(ObjectReference akSpeakerRef)
Actor akSpeaker = akSpeakerRef as Actor
(pDialogueFollower as DialogueFollowerScript).DismissAnimal()
EndFunction

and

;;BEGIN FRAGMENT CODE - Do not edit anything between this and the end comment
;NEXT FRAGMENT INDEX 1

;BEGIN FRAGMENT Fragment_0
Function Fragment_0(ObjectReference akSpeakerRef)
Actor akSpeaker = akSpeakerRef as Actor
;BEGIN CODE
;END CODE
EndFunction
;END FRAGMENT

;END FRAGMENT CODE - Do not edit anything between this and the begin comment

Quest Property pDialogueFollower Auto