OK, I'd like to start off by apologizing if this is the wrong section. I'm not sure if this belongs in the Technical Support or General Discussion.
I have heard that overwriting a Manual Save is supposedly bad. That I should delete the old manual save, and then create a "new" save. I have searched the internet to the best of my ability for a tangible source explaining "why" this is the case. I have failed to find such, and now I am doubting the validity of this claim. To be honest, it all sounds rather ridiculous to me.
I always have multiple saves, backups are indeed a blessing. However, deleting a save, then replacing it does become rather tedious at times, regardless of how small the task sounds. I get a lot of freezes and crashes when exploring, likely because of my 200 mods I have active. With that said, persistent saving is important. I have considered using the "save" commend in the console, which would be much faster than saving through the pause menu. The problem is that the save will overwrite other saves.
I would like to know if this "Overwriting is bad" rumor is just a Skyrim ghost story or if it is something to worry about. If it is real, please provide a bit of information explaining why. From what I have read, it seems to be a rumor that was carried from TES:IV Oblivion to Skyrim.