Inventory detection HALP!

RngrHawk

Hey guys, I have a slight problem. I am new to modding and I am on a quest to make my first mod on the GECK. I don't know if I can find and answer here but it's the biggest modding community ever so why not try right? :tongue:

So my problem is that I don't know how to make the game detect non-quest items (For a quest) in the players inventory without a specific trigger (Like talking to an NPC or stepping into a specific area). Do I have to use a script or can I do it somewhere in the Quest section like "Quest Objectives" or maybe "Quest Stages" or even "Topics"? Is it even possible?D: And if yes then PLEASE explainplzplzplz! I've been bothered with this for 2 days now and I cannot find an answer anywhere and I feel like I dug through the whole internet...

[if someone doesn't understand my problem or wants a further explanation, here it comes]

Lets say I have a quest where I have to kill some nightstalkers for their blood thingy. I need 10 of it. I shot em up, got the blood in my inventory - now I need the game to just check my inventory for the blood and set the next stage of the quest which is going back to the NPC for my reward.

And please, tell me this is something more advanced, because if this was in front of me all the time then I'll throw my PC out the window... xd

Quest script:

BEGIN GAMEMODE
if player.GetItemCount NightstalkerBlood >= 10
SetStage MyQuestName 10
endif
END

Pseudo code, but you get the idea. You could do other stuff if you use NVSE, but that should be sufficient.

Not sure where you're at with the mod, but a quest script is a specific type of script (when you make a script, you need to select the type as Quest as opposed to object or effect). Then in the Quest main window there's a dropdown to select scripts of type Quest.

You'll need to make a stage of the number you set in the script, and put in the result script the objectives and messages etc, possibly advancing to the next stage.