Modders & Writers: Hand in hand

palaminopony

The process is usually that the modder has an idea and creates a mod. He or she might ask for help from writers to write the meat of the dialogue or sidequests or books or the like, but seldom do they turn to writers for basic concepts. Thats my thoughts, anyway.

Depends on the mod. Beyond Skyrim has a whole writing department, and they do the writing, we implement, etc. Some mods have this. Some mods don't. Sometimes the mod author is a capable enough writer - sometimes they just think this and it's not actually true, also. Sometimes they don't want to work with writers. Sometimes there's no need. And sometimes they do. It's whatever ends up happening.

Edited by Mattiewagg

im kinda the reverse of above, im a writer (i dont spend a lot of time editing anything i post on this site) and i tried to mod and honestly havent been very successful with it. so i look to modders to help make my ideas into something i can use in game. so far though the Bethesda games havent been very well made for somethings i'd like to pass on to the modders. all that will change with FO4 most likely.

im kinda the reverse of above, im a writer (i dont spend a lot of time editing anything i post on this site) and i tried to mod and honestly havent been very successful with it. so i look to modders to help make my ideas into something i can use in game. so far though the Bethesda games havent been very well made for somethings i'd like to pass on to the modders. all that will change with FO4 most likely.

What would you say your success rate with finding modders, as a writer is?

Recently I'm particularly fond of a notation convention: single quotes for player spoken lines, double quotes for npc spoken lines. For example, with a good font the following conversation fragment is perfectly readable:

-> "Might be the sympathetic magic. Similar things are attracted."
       -> 'Why similar things are attracted?'