Help on starting Papyrus Scripting

Aderon2000

Hello, this is my first try on writing script with Papyrus. It seems like I cannot compile any script, even the simple one. I follow CIPSCIS tutorial with a very simple script:
ScriptName MyFirstScript extends Quest
Event OnInit()
Debug.Notification("Hello, World!")
EndEvent
I followed the instruction exactly, but the compile failed (I compiled with Notepad++ and also CreationKit but all failed). The errors are follow:
Starting 1 compile threads for 1 files...
Compiling "MyFirstScript"...
C:\Games\Skyrim\steamapps\common\skyrim\Data\Scripts\Source\Quest.psc(3,0): missing SCRIPTNAME at 'Quest'
C:\Games\Skyrim\steamapps\common\skyrim\Data\Scripts\Source\Quest.psc(3,6): required (...)+ loop did not match anything at input 'Function'
C:\Games\Skyrim\steamapps\common\skyrim\Data\Scripts\Source\MyFirstScript.psc(5,1): variable Debug is undefined
C:\Games\Skyrim\steamapps\common\skyrim\Data\Scripts\Source\MyFirstScript.psc(5,7): none is not a known user-defined type
No output generated for MyFirstScript.psc, compilation failed.
Batch compile of 1 files finished. 0 succeeded, 1 failed.
Failed on MyFirstScript.psc
I tried to compile even the basic script file, for example "Quest.psc", "Actor.psc", and all failed because of similar problems. I reinstalled the Creation Kit and still the same. Did I do anything wrong? Is there anything I need to set? Thanks for help.

Do you have a "Scripts" archive or something like it inside your Data folder? If you have, you need to unpack it, as you need the source files (.psc) for compiling scripts. So that you have

...Skyrim\Data\Scripts\Source\

Folder with all the .psc files (like Quest.psc and Actor.psc) inside it. I think DLC scripts have their own subfolders inside the Source folder, so keep them in the subfolders. Hopefully that helps a little. :smile: