[LE] How to get animation event names for use in Papyrus?

Surilindur

Hello,

I have a mod project under construction and it has a slight issue with a reloading animation playing when inappropriate. To solve this, I have thought about using the RegisterForAnimationEvent function combined with a SendAnimationEvent. On player character, that is, not on NPCs (there is a warning on the wiki page about it).

The problem is, the Creation Kit Wiki only lists a limited number of animation event names and does not seem to include the crossbow ones. I would need the starting event of the crossbow reloading animation for the event to fire when appropriate. The animations would seem to be in a .hkx format or something like that, and I have not managed to open them using NifSkope. Yes, I am a total noob when it comes to animations and such. Also meshes and textures. Lottery with various possible names for the reload animation starting event has gotten me nowhere this far.

How would I get the animation event names from the files? Are they in the files as I suspect? Or is there a better way to prevent an animation from playing? I only need that one name at the moment, though. If someone has run into it, I would love to hear it.

Thank you. :)

Yes, you can read behavior files to find the animation events that have a transition in a state. (List of programs to get started) If you are lucky, there would be variables attached to certain parts of the file so you can simply change the variable values by script to disable animations (stuff like bNoStagger == false would probably disable staggering, for example).

Check the Updates.bsa or Dawnguard.bsa since crossbow animations are from DLC. Animations and behaviors are found in meshes/actors/character.

Go to Gameplay > Animations and look for the graph corresponding to the character race u wanna use.
For humanoids, 0_Master.hkx is the behaviour graph.