How hard would it be? Honestly wondering.

Zerican32

I am just wondering and asking from a experienced mod author if it would be hard for modders to make new male and female faces for the soldiers. I know it probably isnt a priority or anything I am just wondering if it is possible or is the system to hard or time consuming to try to make new faces and hair styles? I am not looking for supermodel faces or hairs just more options is all. Is it just easier to work on textures like the last game?

Let me know why it is hard or not hard and what would be involved in a project like this.

Well, while not being an artist myself, I am closely working with another albeit smaller modding community for a game which mainly focuses on 3D which includes quite a lot of hair and so I can maybe already tell...

that the main part of the process is still is to create the 3D assets themselves which is no different from creating them for other games, e.g. one should be able to use Blender and simply export it to UE3 relatively easily if one has the Plugins and settings from the get-go. The XCOM 2 SDK itself contains the Unreal Editor which, if I am not mistaken also allows to work with 3D meshes and textures to a reasonable degree. All that should be left are chores to implement the new customization options which should not be harder than anywhere else since it is linking the files to the menus, make them unavailable to one gender prevent clipping and not end up with a second head instead of hair (but I guess making the menu file will entail that and yes, my other game literary uses a .menu file type, along with .material, .tex and .model).